Nightmare Dungeons in Diablo 4

What are Nightmare Dungeons?

Nightmare Dungeons are upgraded, end-game versions of regular Dungeons. They contain tougher Monsters and better loot, and become available to players in World Tier 3: Nightmare, when players acquire their first Nightmare Sigil. Sigils:

  • Upgrade a specific Dungeon: each Season, 30 Dungeons (6 per Region) can roll on a Sigil
  • Have a 1-100 difficulty tier: the higher the tier, the harder the monsters and the better the items
  • Include 3-5 Dungeon affixes: a pool of 70+ affixes combine to create interesting gameplay
Nightmare Dungeon Diablo 4 entrance
Nightmare Dungeon entrances have an orange-red glow with runes symbols
Diablo 4 SteelSeries hardware
D4 Aerox 5 Mouse SteelSeries Aerox 5 Wireless Diablo 4 mouse
D4 Arctis Nova 7 SteelSeries Arctis Nova 7 Diablo 4 headset
D4 QcK Mousepad SteelSeries QcK Diablo 4 gaming surface

Upgrading a Dungeon to a Nightmare Dungeon

Acquiring Nightmare Sigils

To play a Nightmare Dungeon, players first need to have a Nightmare Sigil, which can come from:

  • Finishing Whispers: the Tree of Whispers gives Sigils as rewards for completing tasks
  • Crafting Sigils: players can make their own Sigils with Sigil Dust at the Occultist
  • Completing Nightmare Dungeons: 1-3 Sigils typically drop per Nightmare Dungeon

Using the Nightmare Sigil

Once a player has a Sigil they want to use, they can right-click it in the Consumables tab of their Inventory. This can be done anywhere -- in town, outside of the selected Dungeon, etc. A message will appear on the screen confirming the Dungeon was upgraded and lists the name of the Nightmare Dungeon and its tier. Because Sigils are Consumables, they're one-use and disappear after using.

Activating a D4 Nightmare Dungeon
Nightmare Dungeon prompt after using a Nightmare Sigil

On their map, players will see the Dungeon's icon transform into a Nightmare Dungeon one (i.e., added horns and a red object). As of Patch 1.0.3, players can click on the Nightmare Dungeon icon and teleport directly to outside its entrance.

Minimap Diablo 4 Nightmare Dungeon icon
Nightmare Dungeon map icon

Logging out before entering a Nightmare Dungeon

If a player uses a Nightmare Sigil, but logs out (or the game crashes) before entering the Nightmare Dungeon, when the player logs back in, the Dungeon will revert back to its regular state (i.e., non-Nightmare) and the Sigil will reappear in the player's Consumables tab, allowing the player to do the process again (if they want).

Trending Diablo books
Book of Tyrael Diablo 3 Book of Tyrael
Book of Adria Diablo Book of Adria
Diablo Cookbook Diablo Cookbook

Playing Nightmare Dungeons

Nightmare Dungeons have the same objectives as regular Dungeons (e.g., collecting and returning Animus, killing all Monsters, etc.) as well as a Boss at the end. What makes them feel different are Nightmare Dungeon affixes, which combine to create different conditions for each Nightmare Dungeon playthrough. Depending on the tier of Nightmare Sigil, the Sigil will roll with 3-5 of the game's 70+ affixes. All but one of the affixes will add more challenge to the Dungeon. These negative affixes are called Afflictions and can, among other things:

  • Increase Monster damage of a certain type
  • Increase Monster resistances of a certain type
  • Spawn objects that routinely try to damage the player

One of the affixes provides a bonus to the player, such as increased damage of a certain type or Magic Find. All of a Nightmare Dungeon's affixes are shown at the bottom of the Sigil, and, once the Sigil is consumed, players can see the affixes again by bringing their map up ("Tab" for PC players).

D4 Nightmare Dungeon affixes
4 affixes on a Tier 14 Nightmare Dungeon

Limited revives allowed

Players can only die a limited number of times in a Nightmare Dungeon before they're booted out:

Tier Deaths
1-20 12
20+ 4

Each time a player dies in a Nightmare Dungeon, they're shown how many revives they have left:

Diablo IV Nightmare Dungeon revives remaining
Players get a 12 death allowance in Nightmare Dungeons

And after the last revive is exhausted, players are returned to outside the Dungeon's entrance.

Nightmare Dungeon D4 failed
Player reaching max deaths in a Nightmare Dungeon
Trending Diablo books
Horadric Vault Diablo: The Horadric Vault
Diablo Tarot Cards Diablo Tarot Cards
Horadric Library Diablo 3 Book of Tyrael

Nightmare Dungeon rewards

Upgrade Paragon Board Glyphs

In addition to Nightmare Dungeons' overall better loot drops, they're the only way to upgrade Paragon Glyphs, the build-defining socketable tiles in Paragon Boards. After a player defeats the Boss at the end of the Nightmare Dungeon, a protective dome will form around the player and up springs what's called an Awakened Glyph (be sure not to leave the Dungeon before this point).

D4 Awakened Glyph
Awakened Glyph pops out of the ground after the Dungeon Boss is killed

Upon clicking the Awakened Glyph, players can select which of their Glyphs to apply experience to (this experience is different than player experience). The higher the tier Nightmare Dungeon, the more Glyph experience that's given. When a Glyph reaches its next level, the player is rewarded with a slightly better bonus.

Diablo 4 upgrade Glyph UI
Interface for upgrading Paragon Glyphs

Dungeon Completion Rewards

As an added perk, when a player finishes a Nightmare Dungeon (i.e., defeats the Boss), they're given what are called Dungeon Completion Rewards, which consist of:

  • 2-3 desirable items
  • Experience
  • Gold

If the Nightmare Dungeon's positive affix is Magic Find, the Completion Reward items will be even better. In the below example, the Unique Amulet, Battle Trance, a Sacred Rare Sword, and the Mount, Spectral Charger, were given as rewards.

Diablo 4 Nightmare Dungeon completion rewards
Impressive Completion Rewards for a Nightmare Dungeon with Magic Find
Trending Diablo books
Horadric Vault Diablo: The Horadric Vault
Diablo Tarot Cards Diablo Tarot Cards
Horadric Library Diablo 3 Book of Tyrael

Current list of Nightmare Dungeons

Below are the 30 Dungeons (6 per Region) that can roll on a Nightmare Sigil. New Dungeons will replace these next Season.

Dry Steppes Nightmare Dungeons

  • Ancient's Lament
  • Champion's Demise
  • Dark Ravine
  • Guulrahn Canals
  • Guulrahn Slums
  • Onyx Hold

Fractured Peaks Nightmare Dungeons

  • Black Asylum
  • Cultist Refuge
  • Kor Dragan Barracks
  • Lost Archives
  • Maulwood
  • Zenith

Hawezar Nightmare Dungeons

  • Blind Burrows
  • Earthen Wound
  • Maugan's Works
  • Serpent's Lair
  • Shadowed Plunge
  • Witchwater

Kehjistan Nightmare Dungeons

  • Abandoned Mineworks
  • Conclave
  • Crusaders' Cathedral
  • Prison of Caldeum
  • Renegade's Retreat
  • Shivta Ruins

Scosglen Nightmare Dungeons

  • Aldurwood
  • Demon's Wake
  • Ferals' Den
  • Raethwind Wilds
  • Sunken Ruins
  • Whispering Pines
Trending hardware for Diablo 4
Alienware AW3423DW Dell Alienware AW3423DW ultrawide monitor
Asus ROG Ally ASUS ROG Ally handheld gaming system
Secretlab Titan Evo Secretlab Titan Evo Gaming Chair
Xiphoid Barbarian avatar

Xiphoid has been playing Diablo since the original's release in 1997. He made one of the largest Age of Empires sites in the late-'90s and early-'00s. Now, he runs, a premier Diablo 4 fansite.


Ver Change Date
Update icon svg 1.0.2 Refreshed guide with Release Nightmare Dungeon information
Update icon svg Beta Added section on unlocking Nightmare Dungeon feature
Update icon svg Alpha Added section on Nightmare Sigils
Upload icon svg Alpha Published original